A Satirical Interview With Christopher Meade

Standard

meadeCM3

I met Christopher a few months ago and, from a few lively conversations, thought of him as an eccentric writer with a scathing view of life and culture as we know it. Then, I read his books and found my observations were spot on.  It’s very hard to write comedy and even harder to write satire without looking like a pompous…well…wanker. 🙂  Honestly, Christopher’s novels are laugh-out funny and his skewering of political and religious mores are usually to the point and comically brutal. Anyhoo, here’s my interview with this multi-faceted author. I’m sure you’ll enjoy it.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Hello and welcome to my study, Christopher. Grab a seat and make yourself comfortable while I hit you with my first question. You’ve written about Obama and Christ. Who’s Next???

I appreciate you having me, John. As for your query, there’s such a wealth of characters in history and modern politics, that I feel spoiled for choices of people to lampoon. Kim Jong Un, Vladimir Putin and Moses are among the leading contenders. There should be quite a mileage of satire to be gleaned from them. I’m also considering Barack Obama’s successor (whoever that may be). Until I know who it is, I can’t tell whether he/she will be funny or not.

What’s been the hardest thing for you in both the writing and marketing part of being an author?

The most difficult thing is the marketing. The effort involved, in going from an unknown to a recognised and successful author, is a real uphill struggle. I’m about halfway up that mountain at the moment.

     The writing part is relatively easy. I’ve been blessed all my life with a vivid imagination and when the mood takes me, the ideas and words just flow. I need to practise patience though. The temptation to just see my words in print always has to be tempered by the knowledge that the first draft isn’t always the best. Editing and re-editing needs to be done to polish the “finished” product.

By the way you substitute ‘s’s for ‘z’s, you seem to be British. Explain Yourself.

     The simple explanation here is that I am not British. I just live here and am Irish. The first half of my life was spent in the emerald isle.

     I am pretty settled here nowadays and am probably more British than Irish in most of my attitudes and opinions. For instance, I’m that rarity, an Irish Catholic Unionist. I still have all my family ties in Ireland though.

Who’s the best character you’ve created and why?

That character would be Julian Faversham (piano-playing, psychopathic zombie). Most of my other characters are either real people like Barack Obama, or rewritten fairy story inhabitants, like the Three Little Pigs or the Cheshire Cat. Julian is totally my own creation, although he can be said to be not entirely fictional. His alter ego (Larry the Downing Street cat) is a real feline and he lives with the British Prime Minister at 10 Downing Street.

What’s on your to-do-list for 2015?

I would like to publish about two more books this year and I would love to see my second book (Stories from the Life of Jesus, by His Mother) performed as a dramatic monologue, either on stage or television. Apart from that, I hope to continue to meet the many new and interesting people who have crossed my path since my writing career commenced.

  Very good. Okay, last question. What’s something about you that would most surprise your readers?

  I pray to my cat, who passed away last year. She was my goddess and I’m certain that she is a saint in Heaven now.

If there is anything else surprising about me, I would prefer to keep quiet about it. Some secrets are best kept to oneself. (I’m actually really a “Mr Dull” anyway.

There you have it, a lively and frank Q&A session with one of the funniest men on Facebook. Be sure to check out his books, Friend him on Facebook, and follow him on Twitter.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

meade 1

The Zombie, the Cat, and Barack Obama

 

SYNOPSIS —

When the writer Christopher Anton visited his local cemetery, something followed him back home. The zombie Julian Faversham became his nauseating, (but musically talented), house guest. But this is not just another zombie story. The writer’s imagination brings the reader on a surreal helter-skelter voyage that includes some very funny explanations for the origin and ancestry of Barack Obama, the truth about the Illuminati, what happened to the body of Adolf Hitler and how Osama bin Laden really died.

“The Zombie, the Cat, and Barack Obama” is a combination of political satire and horror comedy and should make a page-turning read for all those who enjoy a really good laugh.

 

FIVE STAR REVIEW — More than a comedy, January 11, 2014 By TOPAZ – Verified Purchase

I had come across his FB profile by chance and found his comments interesting. I had a hunch that his satirical comedy would be good. Sure enough I was chuckling all the way through the book. At the same time I was impressed. Zombies are not portrayed as the usual mindless monsters here. It is amusing getting behind the mind of a zombie for a change. The author managed to weave in a veiled philosophy that the ending was unpredictable and gratifying. The author has also satisfied our desire to call Mr. Bin Laden a pig without the risk of being targeted by some terrorists. He brought in the innocent story of The Three Pigs. How on earth Mr. Hitler and Mr. Bin Laden got linked to piggies, you just have to read the book. The author’s imagination reaches astoundingly wide, both in geography and time, but his cool as-the-matter-of-course tone, combined with his attention to the details and the ability to peace them to his theory gave his wild plot a peculiar credibility.

The other readers have commented on horror side of the story so I ought to balance things out by mentioning the affectionate element of the book: the author’s fondness for cats. Two cats were given a major power: one in political way, while the other in dark supernatural way. Dog lovers may find one episode heartbreaking, with a large dose of horror. Surely, you must want to know.

This is not a shallow fun book that evaporates right after you close the book. Some lines lingered in my mind long after I finished it.

BUY LINK — http://www.amazon.com/Zombie-Cat-Barack-Obama-appearances-ebook/dp/B009CYBTC8/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1421335413&sr=1-1&keywords=christopher+meade

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

meade 2

STORIES FROM THE LIFE OF JESUS, BY HIS MOTHER.

SYNOPSIS —

When Jesus Christ incarnated into this world, to redeem it, He had two major assets. First he was the Son of God and secondly, in Mary the Mother of God, He had a very special mother. People often forget about Christ’s mother. She must have had a lot to put up with from having a Divine Son. The Blessed Virgin’s road to Paradise can’t have been very smooth, but there must have been a few laughs along the way. This book tells some stories of Christ’s life from the point of view of his ever-loving, but frequently exasperated, female parent. Much of the humour, that is absent from the Bible, is presented. (Not everything went as smoothly as related in the Good Book).
From the Annunciation to the Crucifixion and beyond, Our Lady must have lived a rollercoaster ride of a life. It can’t have been easy to be the Mother of Christ. (Although having a Son with miraculous powers must have been useful at times).
Laugh and cry with the Mother of God and meet some memorable characters along the way, like Jesus’s dodgy grandmother and less than salubrious relations. There are also some extra miracles that didn’t get mentioned in the Holy Book. This book is here to show episodes in the Life of Jesus Christ in a way not covered in the books of the New Testament and it is a tribute to His Blessed Mother, without whose acquiescence no part of His remarkable life could have happened. We must remember that Mary, as well as being the Mother of the Redeemer, was a human being and was subject to all the frailties and frustrations of any overwrought mother.
This is a book that was written, not to diminish the love we should have for God, but to show that it’s alright, sometimes, to laugh at Him, (or with Him).

If God has a sense of humour, He will love this book. (If not, I hope, His Blessed Mother will put in a word for me).

 

MY FIVE-STAR REVIEW —

So That’s What Happened to Jesus In Between His Birth and Adult Years???, January 14, 2015 By J.D.Tucker “J.D. Tucker” Verified Purchase

As with any book that devotes itself to the Christian religion, Mr. Meade’s novel is bound to step on a few toes. Mary, the Mother of Christ, is written as an independent woman who has no problem telling the reader how hard it was to be second fiddle to the main focus of the Immaculate Conception. It’s a parody chock full of satire, humorous exchanges, and laugh-out-loud moments that will make your funny bone pray for relief. Five Stars.

BUY LINK — http://www.amazon.com/STORIES-LIFE-JESUS-HIS-MOTHER-ebook/dp/B00NNL6SQS/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1421335413&sr=1-2&keywords=christopher+meade

 

VARIOUS LINKS

 

5 thoughts on “A Satirical Interview With Christopher Meade

Leave a Reply

