My Interview with Horror/Humorist Author – Jaime Johnessee

Standard

jaime J photo

I’ve talked with Jaime a few times and she’s a witty, pleasant, and intelligent woman with a unique look on life and Literature. Her works are firmly in the Horror genre — whether serious or humorous – and her books are a delight to read.  Here’s her short and concise Amazon Bio ~~~~~

Jaime Johnesee worked as a zookeeper for fourteen years before deciding to focus on her passion of writing. Her decision has proven to be a good one, as her books have been received with critical acclaim. Although her initial foray into the literary world has been marked by success, Jaime has just begun and is a force to be reckoned with in the years to come.

*

Now, on to the Interview ~~~

*

*

Hello, Jaime. Thanks for dropping by. Take a seat, get comfortable, and tell me about  your most recent book and/or work in progress?
*
Hi, John. Nice to be here talking with you. Well, my most recent work is the rewrite (and soon to be re-release) of Bob The Valentine. I am also working on a novel that I’m keeping sort of quiet right now.
*
You’re a big fan of a certain genre of movie. What Horror movie needs a reboot and why?
*
I’m actually not a big fan of remakes. They rarely work and there are so many amazing stories out there I’d rather see new movies than remakes of old ones.
*

Tell us about your favorite character in one of your novels and why you love/hate them?
*
My favorite character is Samantha Reece. She’s a badass, a werejaguar, and an FBI agent armed to the teeth with sarcasm. Samantha is featured in my novel ‘Shifters.’
*
What’s the easiest, and hardest thing about being an author and why?
*
The easiest thing about being an author is the writing. I can’t imagine ever not writing. It’s been a part of me my whole life.

One of the hardest things, for me, has to be marketing. I’m the sort who doesn’t feel comfortable spamming. I let folks know when I have a new release but I don’t tend to post everywhere all the time. I sort of just hope that my work stands on its own and garners me new readers due to its quality.

Even harder is being a woman in this business. Some men tend to discount us as purveyors of horror and that’s rather sad. Those fellows treat us not much better than 1950s secretary. Some of those guys just feel that women can’t possibly handle the genre properly, which is utterly ridiculous to me. Women are statistically more likely to be the victims of violent crime and therefor​e have a far more intimate knowledge of evil and horror.

I’ve had female friends who have taken up male pen names and have seen those names grow in popularity tenfold over significantly less time than it took to build their own names. I’ve seen women get their submissions rejected outright and the same submission accepted when they re-subbed it (with no changes) under a male name. That says an awful lot about the gender gap in this business.
*
You’ve had the pleasure/curse to work in a zoo. What’s your favorite creature and which one ​was the worst to take care of?
*
My favorite creature is the jaguar. They are amazing animals and I was lucky enough to work with a melanistic jaguar (one of two species that can be called a black panther, the other being a melanistic leopard) at Mobile Zoo. The worst animal I had to take care of were penguins. They’re my second favorite animal and they’re trouble and a half during breeding season. I like to joke that the creators of the Madagascar movies got the penguins personalities right on.
*
How about telling us two nuggets of advice for someone writing their first novel?
*
I’m going to cheat and give three bits of advice here. *Grin*

First, don’t give up. Finish that novel, set it aside for awhile, and work on something else. When you’ve finished that new project, then go back to edit your first novel. Don’t ever give up, believe in yourself and your talent.

Secondly, and most importantly, get a good beta reader and a good editor. These people will tear your book apart and teach you to put it back together properly and beautifully. Listen to any feedback you get and take some time to mull the advice over before responding. Surround yourself with good, caring, and honest people and you’ll never go wrong.

Thirdly, when you search for a publisher for that novel make sure you check to see if they have a valid business license. Check sources like Absolute Write, Writer Beware, and Predators and Editors to make sure you are dealing with a reputable business.
*
You just won season tickets to the Detroit Red Wings OR the Detroit Tigers. Which one would ​you take and why?
*
Jeeze, John. I thought these questions were supposed to be easy. This is a rough one for me. I actually had to argue it out with myself because I love the Tigers and Wings equally. I was lucky enough to see the Tigers in ’84 (RIP Tiger Stadium) when they won the World Series and the Red Wings in ’97 when they won the Stanley Cup. I guess, if I had to choose, I’d go Wings because my husband prefers hockey to baseball. I tell you that was almost as hard as it would be to pick between my kids.
*
Last Question. What’s in the works for you and your readers?
*
Hopefully a lot of my work will be coming out the tail end of this year. I have a novel I’m working on rewrites for, one I am currently writing, and one awaiting word from a very wonderful publisher. I’m hoping to have one of them out before next year. There are also some more Bob The Zombie books coming out this year, and I have some short stories that will be published this year. There is a lot going on for me and I’m excited for what is to come.

*

Thanks for agreeing to be subjected to my thought provoking, and silly questions, Jaime. 

Now, read on and discover three of her featured novels ~~~

*

*

bob the zombie BOB THE ZOMBIE

SYNOPSIS — Life is rough. Unlife can be even more difficult, especially when you’re a zombie with bad luck. Follow Bob as he deals with all sorts of trouble. This is not your average zombie novella.

*

BUY LINK — http://www.amazon.com/Bob-Zombie-Jaime-Johnesee-ebook/dp/B00D0VPURO/ref=la_B007P5CLDW_1_6?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1408636795&sr=1-6

*

RANDOM REVIEW

By David H. Church Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Bob the Zombie a wonderful story that takes place in a world where Zombies, werewolves, necromancers, ghouls, witches, etc (I could go on & on) are part of the everyday norm. Bob is a zombie brought back after a “Griswaldian” accident by a distraught mother through a necromancer, who then no longer wants her son around once he starts rotting. I feel brainless writing the word “heartwarming” in a book titled Bob the Zombie. But that is what you get, a wonderfully funny yet heartwarming tale that will have you laughing out loud one minute and then feeling heart break for our fun loving protagonist in this well crafted story.

Jaime Johnesee is one of those rare authors who can actually inject humor & cynicism into her story without it feeling forced. A fun read that I recommend and that I plan on reading multiple times. Just like Donkey Kong, this book has great replay value. FIVE STARS

*
*
BOB THE SEQUEL  bob the sequel
 
SYNOPSIS — Bob is back, join him and his pal Face as they do their bumbling best to try and stop a plot to overthrow the world’s governments.
*
*
RANDOM REVIEW
By Kay Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I eagerly devoured this sequel like Bob with Taco Bell! Bob, the lovable zombie, is back and on a mission with his Horde leader and friend, Face. All the pop culture nods throughout had me laughing and agreeing, from REO Speedwagon references to Steve Miller Band and so on.

I loved learning more about Face, and hearing about the new female addition to the Horde that has Bob’s eye (thankfully not literally!). I did get confused when the story dipped into Holly’s past but back out again without telling the story, as the first book did as well. I’m hoping to learn more about Holly in the future, and hopefully some interaction between Bob and his potential love interest, and maybe an introduction to the rest of the Horde.

All in all, another great adventure that has me eagerly awaiting another installment. I definitely want more Bob! And Face… and Griff… and Holly…. FIVE STARS

*
*
bob the valentimne  BOB THE VALENTINE
SYNOPSIS — Dating is dead difficult. It’s even worse when you’re undead. Bob is back and this time he’s celebrating Valentine’s Day. February fourteenth is the perfect time to ask a crush out on a date, even if your luck runs more toward that of a disaster movie than a romance. After all, what’s the worst that could happen?
*
*
RANDOM REVIEW
Format: Kindle Edition

Ya gotta love a dead guy who is still trying to get a date. But having a positive outlook is the way to go if one wants to get ahead — or even have a pleasant un-life– in the world of the undead, indeed as it is in any variety of existence.

Meet Bob, one of the zombies in the city just trying to get by, have a nice existence, and date what passes these days for a pretty girl. our protagonist. He manages to score a date with his crush, makes a reservation at an upscale restaurant, and even hires a limo! And in his excitement and rush to get ready for his date, his arm falls off, (apparently unstable body parts being a zombie occupational hazard) but it didn’t faze him, he simply staples it back on and continues getting dressed. What a guy!

A funny, funny book, and hit me squarely in my humorous zone. Just delightful – as only a zombie can be. FIVE STARS

*
*
*
LINKS —

Website: http://www.JaimeJohnesee.com

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Jaime-Johnesee/e/B007P5CLDW

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/AuthorJaimeJohnesee

Twitter: @JaimeJohnesee

 

6 thoughts on “My Interview with Horror/Humorist Author – Jaime Johnessee

Leave a Reply

