An Interview with Childrens Author – Kim Page

Standard

kim page

Today’s interview is with Kim Page of the Page Puppies Series. I’ve known Kim for over a year and she’s a wonderful woman, writer, and friend. Her two books, both aimed at pre-school and the younger YA market, are fancifully written and include a plethora of colorful pictures inside them.  Here’s her short but sweet biography~~~

Kimmy Page was born and raised in Maine. Now living in Florida with her wonderful husband and four beautiful fur babies, she loves to recite funny stories about the many antics and adventures of her family. She is proud of her family and enjoys spending time with them and doing everything in her power to make sure they are happy and healthy.

Okay, let’s go to the interview, shall we?

*

*

HI Kim! Thanks for coming by today. First, why don’t you tell us how the Page Puppy Series started and what gave you the impetus to start writing children’s books?

*

Hey, John what a surprise this was!! I’m beyond honored that you want to interview me and the puppies were delighted when I told them that you were interviewing us! Well, I started writing almost by accident. While chatting on the phone with an author friend of mine she was talking about her children (of the 2 legged persuasion) I thought I would be funny and started telling stories about my children (of the 4 legged persuasion). She suddenly said ‘Wait, you told me you didn’t have children. Are you talking about your dogs? Between giggles, I confirmed her suspicions. She told me I should write a book about my dogs. After thinking about it for a while, and talking to a couple of my other author friends who agreed that I should, they talked me right into it. Thanks to their inspiration, here we are six months later. Two books out and two to go!

*

You do quite a lot to help your favorite authors on Facebook. Besides me, name three you’d like to see become more popular than they already are?

*

That’s easy…Barbie Shannon, and not just because she is a wonderful person and a very good friend. But because she’s an extraordinarily talented writer and deserves to be recognized in children’s and adult genres!

Cindy J. Smith would be my second choice. Before I read her poetry I have to admit that I wasn’t what you’d call a fan of poetry. She has opened my eyes to the feelings and emotions that poems can bring to the surface. She is wonderfully talented and doesn’t realize just how extraordinary she truly is!

OK, its not fair you took yourself out of the equation, knowing how I’m a huge fan of your work and you too deserve huge kudos. That being said I could put several here but I’m going to say I’m a Ditter Kellen fan. She is extremely talented writer and I love her books.

*

Thanks for your comments about me, Kim. I really appreciate them. Now, back to the interview. Which one of your dogs will be featured next and how have the other two – Prissy and Yogi – taken to their celebrity status?

*

Maxwell (Max) Page is next. He is a Yorkshire Silky Terrier and so very sweet. Everyone will fall in love with him…just like we have.

As far as the other two and their celebrity status…they haven’t noticed any difference really. I’ve tried to keep them from the lime light because the last thing Prissy’s ego needs is the Paparazzi chasing us down or camping out on our front lawn!!! Hahaha.

*

Do you think authors of children’s books get no respect by more serious ones, and if so, why?

*

Actually I haven’t experienced that myself. The response I’ve gotten from ‘adult’ book writers has been wonderful and very supportive. Even from those I don’t know personally.

*

You would rather —- have a book signing / have an interview on a local TV show / get a day of beauty at a massage spa and forget about your troubles for a few hours?

*

Hahaha… Well, it embarrasses me to have attention drawn to myself in that way, although I’ve been known to be the comedian in a group setting with friends. That being said who wouldn’t want to be pampered for a day with a massage and such….Aaaahhh, sounds great to me.

*

Have you ever read a book that drew you out of your comfort zone and, if so why?

*

I have actually, to the point that I couldn’t finish because I kept crying and the more I read the more I literally felt pain in my heart so half way through the second of a three book series I stopped. A bio…the author telling of his horrific childhood filled with physical, sexual and mental abuse at the hands of the people who are supposed to love him unconditionally and protect him from harm.

I grew up with very loving and protective family which is why I have such a strong reaction to the abuse of any kind.

*

You’ve moved from Maine to Florida. What was the biggest cultural difference between the two?

*

Besides the difference in weather? I guess I miss the visual of all four seasons. I absolutely do not miss the extreme cold and snow! I have to laugh when the southerners pick on me about my Maine accent with their distinct southern drawl to which half the time I find myself saying, “Excuse me?” Hahaha.

When I first moved here I had a few people ask me if northerners were as rude as their reputation, I laughed, having no idea we had that reputation!! Where did that come from? (Editor’s note — It’s been ingrained in us since the Civil War days. )

*

That’s it for the conversation. If you have small – tween children, or you’re a dog lover, you’ll have no excuses in adding Kim’s two books to your collection.

*

*

*

yogi Yogi  Page Puppies Book 1

SYNOPSIS — Yogi is adopted into the Page family and immediately becomes a treasured member. He takes you on a journey through his life full of laughter, love and promise.

*

BUY LINK — http://www.amazon.com/Yogi-Page-Puppies-Book-1-ebook/dp/B00HYEUUXM/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1405363111&sr=1-1

(Also available in Paperback)

*

MY REVIEW ON AMAZON

*

A Sweet Book for Children and Pet Lovers May 18, 2014

By J.D.Tucker  Format:Kindle Edition
A Review of Yogi (The Page Puppies) by Kimmy Harris.

This is a heart-warming book for kids fourteen and under, or any dog lover out there. It deals with two dogs who have grown up with each other until one passes away. To cheer up the depressed survivor, the family adopts Yogi. Then the book switches back and forth from funny anecdotes from the family concerning the two dogs and gives the reader a POV from Yogi’s point of view. There are also cute pictures scattered throughout the book. It’s fun to read and teaches a lesson about shelter dogs. I give it Five Woofs.

*
*
PrissyPrissy Page Puppies Bk 2
SYNOPSIS —  Prissy is confused and hurt by her families sudden decision that she be placed in a new home. It didn’t take long for Prissy to find out that her new family was just what she needed. Her Momma and Daddy never calls her ugly, only tells her she is the Princess. Prissy could learn to live with that. Prissy shows love and teaches acceptance…with a huge dose of humor for fun.
*
*
RANDOM REVIEW
beautiful story told from Prissy the dog’s perspective April 30, 2014

By Cynthia J. Smith  Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Another enchanting tale of a puppy who finds her forever home! Kimmy seems to have channeled the thoughts of this little girl right into her pen! Great read for young ones! Love how Prissy fits right in to her “Princess” shoes! Sorry about Oscar’s passing and Momma’s illness. Yogi, Prissy and Max are very lucky to have such a loving home! Can’t wait for Max’s story!
*
*
*
LINKS ~~~~~
*

E-mail address: kimmy903@yahoo.com

Twitter: Kimberl60605613

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/kim.h.page?fref=ts

 

5 thoughts on “An Interview with Childrens Author – Kim Page

  1. Bob Page

    Great interview from a true friend of the 4-legged loved ones! I loved reading Yogi, and now will have to get Prissy as well. Keep ’em coming, Kim.

Leave a Reply

