Blog Stop and Interview with the Writer of Invicta Salvation – Piper Kay

Standard

piper  Today, my guest is a bestselling author in LGBT Erotica and Romance. As well as being a talented writer, Piper Kay is also a honey-sweet individual and an excellent interview. Here’s her Amazon Bio:

Piper Kay is a homegrown country girl straight from the outskirts of Houston, Texas, USA. She is a #1 International Best Selling author of LGBT Erotica, and an International Bestselling author of LGBT Erotica romance, gay romance, specifically in the male/male (m/m) erotica genre, and LGBT drama. Piper is bringing her passion of storytelling straight to the pages, most times served with a super-sized sprinkle of sexy, a slice of sarcasm and a carafe of crazy.

Read on to get inside the mind of Piper as I assail her with my usual blend of strange and thought-provoking questions.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Hi Piper. Thanks for stopping by on your busy blog tour hosted by Ashley’s Addictive Book Promotions. Now, you’re one of the leading writers of M/M Romance and Erotica Novels. Did you identify it as an underused niche market when you first started to write, or does it stem from personal or cultural reasons?

 *

When I first decided to write, I arrived blind and clueless. I didn’t have any idea about writing, how to learn about it, or that there were so many different genres even available. So, as for identifying M/M with it as an underused niche market? That wasn’t a path I crossed, since I didn’t realize it even existed. I’d never even been a much of a reader until about five years before I started writing. Up until that point, I’d never been able to retain the information, which was frustrating. I could read a paragraph and not be able to tell you one thing it said. I still have no clue why.

As far as culturally, it had nothing to do with what I was writing one way or another.

Personally, I had only known, a handful of guys who were gay when growing up. So I only have one personal experience to go off of. My daughter’s best friend. One day he came over and I knew something was up, he was too edgy and nervous. I could tell he had a mental war going on in his head about something. I was the go to mom for a lot of kids, because I never tried to snow them and I definitely never sugar coated anything. He burst out in tears and pulled up a chair next to me. I gave him a big hug and said “spill it.” That’s the day he came out. I think we talked all afternoon, then he spent the night, so my daughter, him and I sat at the kitchen table and talked most of the night too. For me, it doesn’t get much more personal than that. When I decided to write, I joined a writers group on Facebook, and one of the ladies happened to write M/M. They explained all the initial writing styles – M/M, F/F, M/F/M, and F/F/M – to me. They’d all told me that I wrote with a masculine tone to it. Just what a female wants to hear. They said it was a little harsh, a lot raw, and extremely blunt. One day the mm author dared me to try writing a short story and write it from a man’s POV, to make it a HFN (happy for now) mm story. I took that dare and was on a mission to at least give it a shot. That’s where Twisted Cherry came from. She asked me to let her submit it for me, so I did. I’d known her and the other three ladies for about a year then. It published in November of 2012.

(Editors Note — For anyone lost by the acronyms, M/M is Gay, F/F is Lesbian, and the last two – M/F/M and F/F/M are threesomes.)

*

Have you encountered hostile people or received unfair reviews because of the content of your work?

*

Only if I leave a cliff hanger. LOL  Honestly, no. Not very often at all. Those kinds of situations come up, but they’re extremely rare and never been much of an issue.

*

That’s great to hear. So, as far as musical interests go, what genre do you favor the most?

*

I love it all except country. I can’t stand depressing music. I refuse to get emotional behind a song that makes you want to cry in your beer type of songs where your girl just left, took the old truck, and the dog ran away too. If I had to pick a favorite right this very minute, I’d go with R&B/Hip-hop because it is what is playing in my ears right now. Song called “Show Me” by Trey Songz. It’s one of those things that changes non-stop because I write with music blasting. By tonight, it may be heavy metal, but by morning spin off to dubstep, hard rock, gangsta rock or rap/hip-hop. I’ve been listening to a lot of the R&B/hip-hop, like Kid Ink, Trey, Wiz Khalifa, but I slam in some Godsmack and Static X too.

*

Very eclectic tastes. Do you have any plans to branch out into a more mainstream direction in the future?

*

No, I actually think M/M will soon become one of the mainstream reads. I love writing in this genre, and can’t really see myself changing anything. I would like to do a paranormal M/M story one day, but I still have more to learn about the paranormal part of it.

*

Many of my protagonists are women and I get so many questions asking/telling how I can/can’t write from a female perspective. Since men are relatively simple creatures compared to the opposite sex, do you think it’s easier to write/think like a man?

*

Ummm…oh my, what a question. No, absolutely not easier, and you men are not simple at all. Guys come equipped with that whole secret handbook thing going on, and a construction workers license. LOL   You’re all experts at building up those walls. Let it become an emotional situation and BAM… that wall is up and done with the paint drying, while the woman is still in mid-conversation wondering what the heck just happened. It’s pretty difficult to sort it out and it gets pretty tough sometimes.

*

Why do you think there’s still a stigma attached to homosexuality where celebrities and ordinary men are continuing to stay in the closet despite our enlightened attitudes toward the LGBT community?

*

I think it stems from the same reasons it always has. FEAR, and that goes for both sides of the coin. My opinion only. Fear of being rejected, fear of being discriminated against, and fear of losing control, power, or a social status. Fear of the unknown, the unfamiliar.

.Who wants to be judged or slapped with a label, or have a finger pointing at them? No one wants to lose their family or friends. They certainly don’t want to lose their social status in things because of who they love. Who looks forward to the next bully out to make a point? In the past ten years the attitudes toward the LGBT community have come so far. It’s huge and it’s a wonderful thing, but it isn’t able to come up with a cure for the homophobic, or any of the other stigmas attached to being gay. Even so, it’s much better than in the past, but it still has a long way to go.

*

Most Erotica have certain titles that seem to lend themselves to the genre – Hot Studs, A Woman’s Passion, I Want It Extra Dirty, et al.  How did you come up with the title of Invicta Salvation, and do you consider it a stronger or more mainstream work?

*

At 2:00 a.m., it was a name I think I saw on the cable guide, right after I finished Payce’s Passion. I still don’t have a clue if I read it correctly or not, but it caught my attention. I love the way it sounded. To me, it screamed united, togetherness. It was a strong word but I’m not sure what others think about it. I wasn’t aware of the real definition, so I went to find out and it was perfect. Invicta means undefeatable, unconquered unbeatable, and unstoppable. That is what I wanted to have the main characters of book one, Kaiden and Holt, to be like. I’m a pantster writer so I never know exactly what is going to happen until it actually does, but I get an idea and go with it. Through the series they’ll face different things that come up, and hopefully work through those things.

Salvation is what they found in each other. They save each other, rescue one another from harm, and make a breakthrough. When they meet, they’re young and have come up on their anniversary, fifteen years. They’re unstoppable, can’t be beat. When the two of them work together, they are undefeatable as a team up to this point. Without each other, I don’t know if they could survive things. Book three, titled Retribution, will go into some really major, very deep things with everyone, the whole cast of characters. Holt and Kade, along with Mickey and Toryn of Sanctuary, and the characters Stone and Brice, have situations hitting them left and right without time to breathe, and that part of the story all starts playing out, in depth. It’ll be interesting as I don’t know either, but it’ll be fast paced. Book three not out until next year, but before the end of this year, there will be a special super short that leads more into it.

*

That’s a fascinating admission, Piper. Okay, here’s my final question for you and it’s a doozy. Do you think there’s a double standard when it comes to Hollywood and the public’s general perception of Homosexuality compared to Lesbianism?

*

I think it’s a double standard everywhere and that’s really something to be ashamed about. If two women are spotted together, the whole country doesn’t shut down once it reaches the nightly news, because it’s never reported. When it comes to Lesbianism, some men, not all, are standing there practically clapping and cheering them on. Not only is lesbianism given a big high five, it comes with a pep squad. Not one person has a problem. It’s okay to talk about it, encourage it, and accept it. No one I know objects to public displays of affection between two women. My personal belief is that it’s fine with me. There’s no difference than a straight man and a women being together. Within reason, you follow all of the normal respects that anyone else does.

That applies to everyone, except a gay man.

Let two men even look at each other, much less touch, hold hands, put an arm around another and watch what happens. The lynch mob pops out of nowhere to chase them down. They’ve already held the court proceedings, been found guilty of caring, and the execution is being planned in the center of town in the courtyard square. It’s about that ridiculous. So what? The reality is that the police are called by some ‘concerned citizen’, and nearby men decide to protect the women folk, and toss off gloves, ready to throw down at this kind of thing, and you would have thought that children around the world are damaged for life.

Is a horrible double standard, and guess who causes it? Another man most of the time, or some uppity snot who hasn’t been laid in a year who decides to throw a hissy fit because all the good looking men are taken, by a man. Two men being together have as much right, as a man and a woman, or a woman and a woman. What’s the damn difference and whose business is it anyway? I can tell you one thing, in my opinion, and I hate that I even have to add that part to it, but these are my thoughts.

Two gay men together, have more passion and desire than a man and a woman, or a woman and woman. The crap they have to take in the first place is bad enough, the stares, dirty looks, threats, bullies, etc. He has to deal with the exterior stuff, but also deal with the internal things going on. Everything he has ever been taught in his life is in question. He’s not allowed to react, except in anger, because men don’t get emotional. He definitely can’t talk about it, because that’s something a girl would do. Geez forbid if he cried, the world might tilt off its axis. Now if a man is willing to go through that kind of crap in order to be with another man, well, he just outranked everyone on the “I’ll do anything for love” scale in my opinion. So why not leave him alone.

You would think the average man who feels this way, would be glad, more women to choose from, but not the case. Most times when a person is bothered by someone else, it’s because something in that person triggered something in themselves.

Here’s an example:

Okay, pretend you’re a man. If you were in a bar, restaurant, or whatever, and a man was sitting at the bar alone and the whole place was empty when you walked in, you’d probably sit across the room, just so no one thought anything, right?

So you’re having a beer, when a dude at the bar turns around to look out the window. No big deal right? You don’t have any preconceived notions drawn about him, he’s just a guy at a bar. You’re calm, not threatened, and everything is good in life. It’s all gravy. Dude goes to blink (or fill it in with anything you like. Maybe he licks his lip, rubs his chin, taps his foot, runs a hand through his hair…I’ll go with blink) So, he starts to blink, which most people do very fast, not something a person even notices much, but for some reason, he kind of does it slower than normal. Maybe something is in his eye, maybe not, you don’t know, but it sort of bothered you. Remember you are still a man here.

Okay, you get a chill down your spine for no reason, something is getting to you. Well, window dude didn’t do a thing, so you try to shake it off and look away. No clue what that was about, but as you start thinking, your heart starts to race a little bit, not much but you can tell. You become a little more uneasy with “whatever” it is. You’re agitated, and look back to him just as he blinks again. Then you remember.

Ten years ago when you were in college, you and a bunch of guys were hanging out, when Randy came walking down the stairs. You looked over to see who it was, but then you locked eyes. He blinked really slow, it was a little bit on the sultry side, but it gave you a funny feeling, maybe you liked it just a little bit, it was kind of sexy in a messed up way. You got up and walked out.

So, now you’re thinking about it, go in the man’s head now. That one time, the only time in my entire life that I thought a man even came close to looking decent, maybe a little bit sexy, and it probably wasn’t what I really felt anyway. I can’t remember, too long ago. Well, that whatever it was never happened again, no one knows about it. Hell I’m a happily married man, with kids, and a family. Why am I even thinking about that right now anyway? Doesn’t have a thing to with me, or anything I have going on now. Nope, just scanned the brain, nothing ever again like that, not in my life. God, it’s getting hot in here, I need to loosen my tie so I can breathe. Focus and shove it out of your mind and quit playing head games on yourself. Stupid anyway. If dude would have stayed on his damn bar-stool in the first place, this thought wouldn’t even be happening. And who the hell does he think he is anyway? Idiot. Not sure why people have to go doing stuff to mess with me anyway.

YOU had turned the thing with Randy ten years ago, into a negative thing for you, negative thought, whatever. That man had a behavior that associates to your own personal feelings and now you’re so pissed off, you ready to go kick his ass behind him looking out a window. Now how did he do that? The man who’s angry now, totally turned it all around to that man somehow messing with him. Never happened, remember he was calm, relaxed, and not threatened a bit. Now he wants to hurt the bar guy.

Maybe the people that have so much against a gay man, have something entirely different going on altogether. When you can let a perfect stranger amp you up enough that you’re ready to scrap with them, chances are you saw yourself in him or one of his behaviors.

Spot it, you got it, that’s what they say. Sounds pretty accurate to me.

I do think that the celebrities coming out are setting a pattern in motion, that’s a good one. Maybe with a little time, and a lot less hate, everyone can do what they want with their own body. Wouldn’t that be something?

*

That it would, Piper. Thank you for a wonderful interview. I wish you all the success and happiness you can handle in your life.

Now, read on to discover some of her books and personal links to check out.

                     ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

invicta

INVICTA SALVATION (Invicta Series Book One)

*

SYNOPSIS — As Kaiden McKenzie and Holt Mitchell prepare to celebrate their fifteenth anniversary, and the grand opening of their new club, Invicta, they take a look back on how their lives together began.
When Holt wakes up to an outraged father, he finds himself suddenly homeless and hungry. With the help and caring of a certain bad guy, Holt finds life isn’t quite so bad as it seems. All he needed was the right man to guide him along.
Kade has spent his life running from anyone and everyone who tries to get close, but when he meets up with Holt, he suddenly finds himself wishing for something more. Who knew he was someone’s knight in shining tattoos…

*

BUY LINK — http://www.amazon.com/Invicta-Salvation-Book-1-ebook/dp/B00KLDRU5O/ref=la_B00AF9Z718_1_4?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1404845036&sr=1-4   (HEY, IT’S ONLY 99 CENTS!!!!)

*

RANDOM REVIEW

*

FIVE STARS — Piper Kay Is The Master of M/M Romance

May 27, 2014 By Monique Lomino

Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
The story of Kaiden and Holton is not only the steamiest m/m romance I’ve ever read but it also has great depth.They each have a past that is heartbreaking but in finding each other a connection forms that is almost instantaneous and together the healing process begins. Every time Piper Kay writes a book I deem it my favorite, that is until her next one comes out and that one quickly becomes my favorite. I have watched Piper become a master of m/m romance. Frankly before Piper Kay I had never read m/m before because I was just not interested in it .Well I’m here to tell you that she took me by the hand and led me into her world and I’m not leaving any time soon. Brava Piper!! I can’t wait for the next book in this series!!
*
*
invicta 2
INVICTA SANCTUARY (INVICTA SERIES BOOK TWO)
*
THIS BOOK WILL BE RELEASED ON 7/13
*
SYNOPSIS —

What is your sanctuary? For Mickey, he never needed one, he was his own. Until now. In a situation spinning out of control, Mickey is forced to make a move and he’s not sure how to handle it. He’s an intelligent, self-reliant man who never depended on anyone for anything, but now he is alone for the first time in his life, scared. By accident, he ends up at Invicta, the hottest new male go-go dance club in town. Owners, Kade and Holt, know the behavior all too well, but Mickey’s trust factor is leveling out on zero, until he spots Toryn. Sometimes sanctuary can be found in the strangest of places.

*

BUY LINK (When Available) —

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22466840-invicta

*

*

Pyce's Passion

PAYCE’S PASSION (The Passion Series Book Two)
*
SYNOPSIS — It’s been seven years since Payce started his new life, and it was finally starting to feel comfortable…almost. But when his past catches up to him, Payce has to decide if he’s going to deal with the things he left behind, or if he’s going to keep running.
When his friends, Damien and Dax need help, Payce is forced to confront the one person who knows him better than himself, Braxton and the one who made him lose everything he held dear, Aaron. Seeing them both could change everything for Payce, and when past passions reignite, who will get burned in the end?
*
*
RANDOM REVIEW
*
FIVE STARS — Need a little dose of hot men? Then you won’t want to pass this one up. May 8, 2014

By The Color of Ink  Format:Kindle Edition
Starting off with a little update on Damien and Dax from Perfect Passion was a great way to start this book. But even better is how the main character, Payce, is introduced. A sexy scene that tantalizes the senses and sucks you in to get more of him and what makes him tick. When Damien asks for Payce’s help with a now dangerous situation with his ex, Aaron, he doesn’t bat an eye and its all business. It doesn’t hurt that he and Aaron has a past and he knows how to find him. It may take a little time, but he will get the job done for his friend. However, all work and no play aren’t in the cards for Payce.

Payce may not be the relationship kind of man, but he is all man. When he is face to face with Braxton again while looking for Aaron he is second guessing himself and his resolve. The heat and emotions start to turn up between them. He always knew where Braxton was, but he couldn’t bring himself to face him. He didn’t want to hurt him all over again. Did he do the right thing by leaving things the way he did with Braxton or was he being selfish and just saving himself?

I love the characters in this series. Both books have some hot scenes and likable characters. The story flows and moves right along from one book to the next. I love how each book is a complete story with the choice to snag a glimpse at the next book. Hey, at least you get a warning before you read the few pages and are left waiting for the next in the series. My “oh so favorite word” slurp made its presence known, however this time around I barely noticed.

This is definitely an 18+ read. Although it could be a stand-alone, I highly recommended starting with the first book in the series. Need a little dose of hot men? Then you won’t want to pass this one up. Thanks for a great read Piper Kay. Payce’s passion gets a well-deserved 4.5 stars. I can’t wait for the next book in the series. It sounds like a fun one.

*
*
LINKS ~~~~~~~
*

Amazon author link: http://amazon.com/author/piperkay

FB: https://www.facebook.com/piper.kay.1

Twitter: https://twitter.com/PiperKayAuthor

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6613775.Piper_Kay

Authograph: https://www.authorgraph.com/authors/PiperKayAuthor

Google: https://google.com/+PiperKay

Blog: http://piperkay.blogspot.com

BOOK LINKS: FOR MAIN FEATURE:

INVICTA-Salvation Book One of INVICTA SERIES

Amazon: http://smarturl.it/InvictaSalvations

i-tunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/x/id885647639

Nook: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/invicta-piperkay/1119684259?ean=2940045982450

Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/442215

BOOK TRAILER: Book Trailer: http://youtu.be/xBG15unzj-Y

INVICTA-Sanctuary Book 2https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22466840-invicta

Releases one week from now, on the 13th of July and ONLY available through The Naughty Box 2 by Hot Ink Press. Entire set is 9 authors, 99 cents.

Online release party on the 13th also:

The Naughty Box 2 release party:https://www.facebook.com/events/1433918336868918/

AMAZON Links to all books (don’t have to share though)

INVICTA bk 1 http://smarturl.it/InvictaSalvations

INVICTA bk 2 https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22466840-invicta

A Perfect Passion http://smarturl.it/APerfectPassionk

Payce’s Passion http://smarturl.it/Payce

Eight Second Cowboy http://smarturl.it/EightSecondCowboy

Twisted Cherry http://smarturl.it/TwistedCherry

The Naughty Box http://smarturl.it/NaughtyBox

 

5 thoughts on “Blog Stop and Interview with the Writer of Invicta Salvation – Piper Kay

Leave a Reply

