A Blog First for JTMD — A Fan’s Interview with John Tucker

Standard

me 2

Today’s interview is being conducted a little differently. It comes from a reader/fan who wanted “more” than my simple bio offered.

Here’s my bio from Amazon ~~~~

A life-long Georgia native, John D. Tucker has burned through three wives, raised two sons, and has persevered despite being brought up in a wonderfully dysfunctional family.

He is a multi-genre author with psychological thrillers (DIVISIVE, THE FIFTH GAME, AND SPLITS IN THE SKIN), a Romantic Dramedy Series called BEMUSED AND BEDEVILED (TERPSICHORE IN LOVE, THE MARK OF CAIN, and THE SEVENTH SEAL), a young adult Mystery (THE LITTLE GIRL YOU KISS GOODNIGHT), an Adult Contemporary novel (ROMANCING THE FOX) and the Erotica sizzler (TWELVE DOORS TO ECSTASY).

He plans to release five more books over the course of the 2014 – the final chapter in the Rask Trilogy – THE EIGHTH FAMILY, a Hostage Drama called THE WISDOM OF LUNATICS, a Contemporary Romance – eTERNALMATES, the second book in the Steph Linder Trilogy – THE LITTLE GIRL WHO CRIED AT MIDNIGHT, and the sequel to Romancing the Fox — CHASING THE FOX.

He is also a proud member of IWW (The Internet Writers Workshop) which he highly recommends to aspiring authors.

So here goes…I turn this blog over to Lori Ann Smith.

*

*

Hello, John, how are you? Let’s get to this… So you’re a writer now, all genres, but you were previously in restaurant management; has anything from that profession crossed over into your writing?

*

Hello, Lori. Nice place you got here. 🙂  Well, other than give me fodder for the book I’ll eventually write about my experiences in the pizza industry, not a damn thing. There’s something soul-sucking about working in the public sector in a fast-food/management job. You see the worst side of customers at times, get no respect from the higher-ups, and watch as nepotism and favoritism gets people the choice jobs in the best areas.

But, on the flip side, you also see people working together most of the time, a few customers acknowledge your existence, and every Thanksgiving and Christmas off. And as far as getting snow days off (especially in Georgia) — fuhgettaboutit.

*

nine books 2

*

I’m sure this has been asked before, but do you prefer one genre over another and why?

*

In reading, I’m drawn to and love to read horror and Historical Fiction. When I write, I prefer fast-moving psychological thrillers and, over the last year, Erotica. Nothing gets a reader’s pulse racing better than those two genres and, if done right, will give them nightmares and fantasies for years to come.

*

You have recently become somewhat of an advocate for Indie writers, starting this blog, teaming up with other authors and groups to promote new books and authors … have you seen improvements in your sales or followers for yourself or the authors you have helped promote?

*

All Indie Authors will support each other to a point. Through blogs, events, Facebook groups, and posts on Twitter, Facebook, Linked In, etc etc. Some will go the extra distance for everyone who asks, others will circle the wagons and only promote their friends and relatives. I’ve seen my own sales steadily climb over the last year – from 3-5 a month to 12-15 – thanks to a core unit of followers who think I’m a decent writer. As far as helping others sell book through my efforts, I hope I’ve managed to put a little coin in the coffers of my associates and peers.

*

DivisiveThe Fifth Game

Some of the characters you have written about are very dark, disturbed people (Dennis Rask of Divisive and Moses Bailey of Splits in the Skin), while others are very light – (Euterpe/Butterfly of the Bemused and Bedeviled series and Steph Linder of The Little Girl You Kiss Goodnight). Are any of your characters inspired by people in your past or present circle?

*

Some of my secondary characters are friends and relatives with different names to protect the innocent and the guilty. The main characters (Protagonists and Antagonists) have certain things in common with me as far as physical appearance, demeanor, and personality. John McKenzie of Romancing the Fox is me, excluding the confidence and situations. Dennis Rask of Divisive and The Fifth Game is my Mr. Hyde (my evil alter-ego) and is nothing like me. Thad Linder of The Little Girl You Kiss Goodnight is me in a way. He’s irritating at times and likes to start trouble. (We call that being ‘pickified’ in the Deep South.)

*

TILlgkg

*

As you’re writing each book, do you see the book in movie form running through your head and do you see any established actors in specific roles?

*

Yes, as I’m writing I treat every chapter like an episode of a television series and every scene break like a cut to a commercial. Most television series will touch of the lives of all it’s characters over the course of the 42 minutes it’s allotted. I try to do that with my literary denizens and feature different POV’s rather than remain on one or two over the course of the novel. Like most hour-long television shows, my chapters will end with an exciting moment or a cliffhanger designed to keep them turning to the next chapter. As a result, my writing style has brought comparisons to a machine gun or an out of control roller-coaster blowing words past the reader. I’m not going to spend five paragraphs describing the location’s scenery or a character’s outfit. If I spend two sentences on those items, it usually has something to do with the storyline.

*

I have been a beta reader for a couple of your books now and, through your process, I’ve watched some characters go in very different directions than I thought they would. Can you explain your writing decisions if your character changes from what you’ve outlined? Do you write different endings based on your beta readers’ responses?

I mainly use beta readers for three things – finding glaring errors, character inconsistencies, and the overall readability of the book. In my erotica novel Twelve Doors to Ecstasy I found my betas wanted to know what the main villain thought about my heroine’s escape from his evil clutches. So, I added a long scene to show his thoughts and point the reader into the direction I want to take the sequel. As a result, the last chapter now has a happy ending and a sense of a very real danger soon to take place. In my soon-to-be-released – The Wisdom of Lunatics – I heeded my beta readers pleas to make the main heroine less of a bitch and temper her profanity at the beginning. I wanted Maritza Van Lyle to be a fearless woman at the end of her mental rope and overdid it it a bit. Now she’s a little more timorous at first, but she’s still feisty enough to show her I-don’t-give-a-damn attitude.

*

Romancing the FoxThe Mark of Cain

*

If one of your female characters came to life, who would you want it to be and would you pursue a relationship with her?

As I thought about this question I discovered most of the characters I would be attracted to died during the novel. I’ll always have a soft spot in my heart (and pants) for Jenna Fox in Romancing the Fox, Smitty Sprayberry of Splits in the Skin, Kim Laurence of The Little Girl You Kiss Goodnight, and Tryst Sanyon of Twelve Doors to Ecstasy. Nothing against those four women but the one I’d like to see come off the pages and into my life is Calliope – one of the nine Muses in my Bemused and Bedeviled Series. In the first book – Terpsichore in Love – she’s a ferocious mega-bitch with a chip on her shoulders. Over the course of the next two books – The Mark of Cain and The Seventh Seal – she slowly changes into a semi-sweet, caring eternal thanks to the slowly growing attentions of Dan Gordon (the series’ hero.)

*

Splits in the Skin 2The Seventh Seal

With regards to your newest release, Twelve Doors to Ecstasy, of the doors that your heroine, Tryst chose, which room would YOU want to go through (assuming the occupants inside were the female version) and why?

*

Hmmmm, the two rooms that immediately come to mind include a great massage with a happy ending, or a threesome with two gorgeous women. I would also love to be a voyeur in the S&M room and the Play-Acting suites. So, I may be too predictable, but the threesome sounds great.

*

12 doors

*

One more question about “Twelve Doors to Ecstasy.” Tryst gets paid to take her journey of sexual self discovery while Mr. Anders watches her. Do you think this woman is a character that will empower your women readers, or might it be seen as one man’s efforts to turn one woman into his personal voyeurism prostitute?

*

For Tryst, it does start out as a way to get the teaching she needs about sex and intimacy, and a lot of money for her troubles. By the end, she realizes she’s much richer for the interactions she had with everyone and accepts the money from Anders almost as a ‘so what.’ It was hard for me to paint this woman (Tryst) as a decent, innocent-type character and less of a slut, even though she has sex with over twelve different men and women over the novel’s journey. From my 23 reviews no one’s directly mentioned her promiscuous behavior as a detriment, so I think I toed the line the best I could.

*

I know from reading your blog interviews you always ask the interviewee about their current WIP, so I’m also going to ask you about it too. Currently, what are you working on?

*

I have a few projects going on at once, as usual, but the ones I’m spending the most time on lately are a contemporary romance called eTernalMates, and a erotic drama titled Vergene Revenge,Twisted. After those are finished, I’ll be working on sequels to Romancing the Fox, The Little Girl You Kiss Goodnight, and Divisive. They will be Chasing the Fox, The Little Girl Who Cried at Midnight, and The Eighth Family: Rask’s Masterpiece.

*

Ok, my favorite interviewer is James Lipton (Inside the Actor’s Studio) because he ends each interview with a list of questions from Bernard Pivot, host of France TV’s Apostrophes. I would love to ask you all ten questions; however, I fear I would be pushing the limits of you and your followers’ patience. Therefore, I will only ask three as part of this question.

What is your favorite curse word?

What profession, other than your own, would you like to attempt?

If heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the pearly gates?

*

Sadly enough, my favorite curse word is the ‘F’ word. It can be used as a noun, pronoun, proper Noun, adjective, verb, and a fucking gerund for all I know. 🙂

The profession I would love to attempt would be acting.

If I arrived at the pearly gates, I have no doubts God would use my favorite word, followed by an exclamation mark and a question mark.

*

I know you said eight questions but can I have one more please? (And that was not it). Tell me one thing on your bucket list that you would like to complete when you become a globally famous author?

*

I’ve never been much for traveling (homebody) but I’ve love to take a few months to see Ireland/Scotland/Russia, Brazil, and the Netherlands. After that, I’d return to Georgia to stay with my young Russian bride until I died.

*

*

Thank you, John for sitting down with me and letting me pick your brain. As you’ve inspired me to work more on my own writing (something like three different WIPs), perhaps one day you’ll be interviewing me here on your blog…

*

I’m sure I will, Lori.  Good luck with your writing. I’m proud to count you as one of my biggest fans.

*

*

LINKS

*

Facebook Author Page —-http://www.facebook.com/hutt1234

Amazon Author Page — http://www.amazon.com/John-Tucker/e/B005GQUH3I/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_pop_1

Twitter — @Hutt1234John

Blog — https://johntuckermustlive.wordpress.com

http://ebonyandivorysbookharmony.blogspot.com/2014/06/interview-with-john-tucker.html

http://thetroubledoyster.blogspot.com/2014/06/meet-dennis-rask-star-of-rask-trilogy.html

http://centerstagejrd.wordpress.com/2014/06/04/interview-with-john-tucker/

http://www.lindaleewilliams.com/lindaleewilliams/Blog/Entries/2014/2/9_A_warm_welcome_toJohn_TuckerGetting_to_know_you…Interview.html

2 thoughts on “A Blog First for JTMD — A Fan’s Interview with John Tucker

Leave a Reply

