A JohnTuckerMustLive Exclusive Interview with Mitch Goth — A Rising Star with A Fury

Standard

644426_437266442981843_1137000066_n

I’ve known Mitch for a few months – we swapped books to review – and I found him to be a personable and goal oriented young whippersnapper with a talent and imagination that should propel him far into his literary career.

 

Here’s his extremely succinct Amazon Bio and the link to it ~~~Mitch Goth currently resides in Yellow Springs, Ohio, where he attends Antioch College. When not writing, he spends his time investigating the paranormal and indulging in a good book or movie. http://www.amazon.com/Mitch-Goth/e/B00C0GMK28/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1404674591&sr=1-2-ent

*

Now, on to the interview where you’ll find out what’s going on inside the mind of a young man who represents the Literary future.

*

*

Hi Mitch. Thanks for stopping by my newly-renovated studio-office. First things first. In your Facebook pictures, you don’t wear dark make-up, have black fingernails, and never dress in mostly dark garb. Your last name is Goth. What’s up with that, and have you ever considered doing it?

*

Hello, John. Thanks for letting me drop by and talk about myself. Yes, my last name is Goth. It has nothing to do with the life-style whatsoever, it comes from Germany. I like to think of it more like a homage to the architectural style than to the blacked out kids we all knew in high school. I have not once considered doing that, not even as a joke, mostly because I don’t find it very flattering, and it looks like it takes a lot of work. I’m not up for that.

*

You’re a very young writer and already have a few books to your name. Where do you see yourself in ten years, and how many novels will you have under your belt?

*

Well, I’ve been publishing since I was 17, in other words, for about a year and three months as of June, 2014. To date I have published 16 works, with another on the way very soon. Ten years from now would make me 29, and at that point I’d probably want at least 120 books or novellas out. At the rate I’m going now, I see that as rather conservative. I’ve never run into writers block and never plan to. I could write for a thousand lifetimes and never run out of good ideas.

*

That is quite a lofty goal, my friend. Okay, tell us what genre you’re published in and which one would never be an option for you to write in?

*

I publish in a variety of genres. The first one I jumped into was crime thriller fiction, then I went into adventures and suspense, followed by YA and paranormal fiction. Now I’m making a return to crime thrillers with a new series I’ve got in the works. In terms of a genre I’d never write in, I don’t want to say no to very many, but I would definitely have to say no to erotica. Not my style, no where near what I write about now, and I think it would be an almost complete disaster. Not just for me, but probably the reader too.

*

Have you ever had to scrap an entire book (or a few chapters) because you didn’t like the route the novel was taking. If not, what would you do to salvage the book and right it’s course?

*

The closest I ever came to scrapping an entire book was tossing away about three chapters of a novella I was writing. It was meant to be a humorous story about an older brother taking care and dealing with the messes of his hoodlum kid sister. But, I couldn’t find a way to make the sister character both the kind of criminal person that I wanted and still make her likeable. Not to say I won’t revisit this series later, it’s just not on my plate right now.

*

Do you have a favorite charity and why is it important to you?

*

I’m currently not involved in many charities, mostly because I’m a college student and don’t have quite enough money to swing that. I suppose I could say my college is my charity, seeing as it takes up the majority of my time and a hefty supply of my money and sanity. So for the sake of this, my favorite charity is that of Antioch College.

*

Would you rather have a book signing / have an interview on a local TV show / or spend an entire day with an author or celebrity (name them) of your choice?

*

To me, book signings are a gamble, and I’m not a gambler. If I were on a local TV show, I would have no clue what to say, or even what to do with my hands, so I’d end up just looking like an idiot. But, in terms of someone I would like to spend the day with, that would probably be the renowned indie(ish) author Hugh Howey. I’m a big fan of Hugh’s blog, and I love his take on the status of the publishing industry, as well as his words on the Amazon/Hachette debacle. He definitely gives a larger voice to the independent publishing community and more often than not, his words of wisdom both for the self-publishing route and against the traditionalist route inspire me to keep writing and keep publishing in the forum I do now.

*

Which of your novels would you suggest to a first time reader and why?

*

For a first time reader, I suppose it depends on what you like. If you’re a fan of deep, emotional reads, I would send you to Shattered Glass (my personal favorite so far). But, if you enjoy face paced books, I would direct you to my crime series that starts with Parabellum. But, that series is technically a five book serial, so prepared to be sucked in for the long haul. I also have several shorter books like The Sinking of The Pattison Glory, and novellas of less than 100 pages, like the installments of my Antioch Adventures YA serial series. In truth, there’s a lot to choose from, and there are a lot of different kinds of readers out there. I think I’m getting close to having at least one book for everyone.

*

From your Facebook posts, you seem to be appreciative of the paranormal field. Are there any television/reality shows you’ve seen that do the paranormal a disservice, and any that embrace it wholeheartedly?

*

I have been an avid ghost hunter for several years now. Many people tell me I should write a ghost hunting book, but I guess I haven’t found the inspiration yet (outside of my Paranormal Thriller book Unlikely Angels, but that’s not really about ghost hunting). Honestly, I’ve become sort of disillusioned with the rest of the paranormal community. There’s some great investigators out there, and I still love doing it. But there’s a lot of morons out there too who have no idea what they’re talking about, all the TV shows included. Not one investigator on TV today does the field any justice, nor do a lot of non-TV investigators. I haven’t ran into many ghost hunters today who do it up to par in my eyes, but there are a few out there, and I’m happy to go out hunting with them any day.

*

That’s it for my conversation with one of the more interesting teenagers I’ve ever met. Read on and learn about three of his featured books and feel free to click on the links to check out other facets of his talent and imagination. He has a few FREE books and 99 cent options on his Amazon Page.  I encourage you to scoop them up, read, and always leave a review for an up-and-coming Indie writer.

*

*

 antioch

WELCOME TO ANTIOCH COLLEGE

SYNOPSIS — Welcome to Antioch College is the first installment of a short story serial series.

After many years of vacancy, Antioch College is coming back to life. Through renovation and restructuring done by its new president, this small liberal arts school calls in its first class in several years. But this isn’t good news for some. Evan Morgan, an antisocial and anxious young man, arrives for his first day of orientation. Drawn in by several unheard of perks as well as the school’s size, Evan is quickly taken off guard by the eccentricity of both the new student body and the staff members. As his first day goes by, Evan can’t help but wonder what exactly he’s gotten himself into.

The second installment is available here: http://www.amazon.com/Timid-New-World-Antioch-Adventures-ebook/dp/B00KC9267Y
*

BUY LINK — http://www.amazon.com/Welcome-Antioch-College-Adventures-Serial-ebook/dp/B00JYEQOYO/ref=la_B00C0GMK28_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1404674600&sr=1-1

*

RANDOM REVIEW

*

nteresting Preparatory Session for a College Odyssey. May 27, 2014

By J.D.Tucker Format:Kindle Edition
My review of Welcome to Antioch College by Mitch GothThis book is similar to a College brochure in the fact it’s short, brings out the interesting facts first, and makes you yearn for a chance to take a tour or get accepted.

It introduces you to Wes Harding in the first chapter, the new no-nonsense president who wants to resurrect Antioch College to its former grandeur. After that, you meet the main characters for this novella and the ones to come. Evan Morgan is a freshman and apprehensive about being in higher education. He soon becomes friends with John Paul (JP) and Brad, who’s a homosexual, as well as Emily Atkinson and Amanda Garfield. Amanda is Mr. Harding’s Assistant.

This novel sets the plate for future books by giving you unique characters, interesting scenarios, and good old fashioned hook-em-good writing. It’s currently FREE, so grab it and take a trip into a college you’ll want to visit again and again.

*
*
SHATTERED GLASS      shattered glass
  *
SYNOPSIS –– The life of Tiana Halford was rarely easy. As an infant, she was raised without a mother. As a child, she faced abuse that she could not fathom. And as a teenager she suffered through ridicule and persecution from her peers. Throughout her life, she was held up and kept from oblivion by her best friend, Zach Ames. She often envied Zach’s calm, normal upbringing, and his lack of a haunting past. She appreciated his constant support and dedication to her through all the horrible moments in her life. All she needed was a person without those hard moments in life to show her what life could be, and Zach was always the person willing to give her that. But, little did either of them know, his hard times simply had yet to begin.
*
*
RANDOM REVIEW
*
FIVE STARS — Shattered Lives March 29, 2014

Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Tiana Halford uses broken glass to craft beautiful shattered glass mosaics. A student in a small-town college in Ohio, Tiana works to hone her craft. As she studies and creates her mosaics, her past haunts her. Her mother died in childbirth. Her father tried to drown his grief with alcohol…and left Tiana with deep scars on her battered psyche.Zach Ames is Tiana’s amateur art critic, best friend, and her boyfriend. He loves Tiana, and he dreams of a future with her.David Marshall is a disturbed art student in Tiana’s class. He is mesmerized by Tiana, and writes about her as his Dream Girl.

Mitch Goth’s Shattered Glass explores a young woman’s struggle to rise above her past. When her present life takes a terrifying turn, Zach has to reach deep within his soul for strength. Mr. Goth explores lives as shattered as the glass Tiana uses in her mosaics.

*
*
PARABELLUM   parabellum
*
*
SYNOPSIS — Jimmy Brigio has spent a decade avoiding his home town of Chicago and his mafia kingpin brothers who inhabit it. But when he gets the call that his sister has been kidnapped and is presumed dead, Jimmy returns to the Windy City to try and find her. But after an altercation with another powerful local mob, he finds he’s too late. So now, with a bounty on his head and revenge on his mind, Jimmy is hell bent on bringing down the men who took his sister’s life, and the lives of many others…even if he has to do it alone.Parabellum is the first installment of the Brigio Series.
*
*
RANDOM REVIEW
*
Captivating story! July 1, 2014

Format:Kindle Edition
Very interesting and captivating story line, kept me turning the pages all night! If you’re seeking to escape into a suspenseful, gripping mood then this book is for you. Highly recommend it!
*
*
*
LINKS —–
*

3 thoughts on “A JohnTuckerMustLive Exclusive Interview with Mitch Goth — A Rising Star with A Fury

Leave a Reply

