An Exclusive Interview with a Unique Poet — Cindy J. Smith

Standard

Image  I’ve known Cindy for a long time and she still surprises me to this day with her unusual insights, off-the-collar-remarks, and general observations on life and love. Here’s her Amazon Bio. Check it out and you’ll see she’s not your stuffy, everyday type of poem-spinner.

*

Cindy Smith was raised in upstate New York. She has worked a variety of jobs during her life–waitress, store associate, certified electronic technician. She is currently employed as an over-the-road truck driver. Cindy has lived is many states from Maine to Florida. She now resides in Indiana. Through all her experiences, she had voices in her head dictating poems. The voices would not relent until Cindy wrote the poems down. She invites you to eavesdrop.

*

Now, prepare to eavesdrop on our casual conversation about her career, life, and viewpoints on the weird things I bring up. She’s also written a poem just for the curious souls reading this interview!!

*

*

Hi Cindy. Thanks for climbing out of your 18-Wheeler and stopping by my office. My first question to you is – Why do you write poems rather than novels and is it true that most poets are solitary creatures?

*

Thanks for having me here, John. To answer your query, as a youngster, my older sisters would read to me from Mother Goose and Dr. Seuss and sing me silly songs all the time. I began adding to their works because I felt they were too short. So writing poetry is something I’ve sort of always done. Novels writing I think would be rather hard. You have to come up with characters, name them and make them believable. Then you have to work out a scenario that could be followed and considered reasonable. I can’t keep a train of thought that long. I like being able to say what I want and then move on to another topic. Here’s ny humble effort to answer your question with a poem:

WHAT TO WRITE?

I would like to write a book

But first let me take a look

Guess I need some kind of plot

Characters I’d need a lot!

Names and faces I would need

Kind ones and ones filled with greed

Where will the action take place

Here on earth or outer space?

In present, future or past

And just how long will it last?

Too many issues I think

As a novelist I’d stink

For the second apart of your question, I do like talking to people and visiting but I need my alone time. I would probably be happier by myself if given a choice.

*

Great job, Cindy!! Okay, tell us about your job and how do your peers react when you tell them you’re a published poet?

*

I’ve done many jobs in my life and I’m presently an over-the-road truck driver with my husband. We now work a dedicated route. Several of the other drivers have purchased and read my books and were really surprised that they liked them. Most people are rather shocked to learn that I even write poetry.

*

What kind of music do you listen to as you write, or do you prefer silence?

*

I truly have no specific writing style. I really do have voices which tell me what they want me to say. They talk whenever they want: when I’m reading a book, listening to music, talking to someone, eating, or going to bed – basically any time is good for them. My musical tastes are flexible, except I don’t like country very much. I prefer hard rock/metal, but love oldies and classical music also. I have 4 mp3 players that I use constantly. The fact that music has been such a big part of my life has probably added to my tendency to write poetry.

*

Do you ever stop what you’re doing and write an idea or stanzas on a piece of available paper?

*

LOL. I used to do that all the time. Waitresses give you odd looks when you scribble on napkins. Now I use a voice recorder. It’s very handy as the voices have decided they like to talk while I am driving at night.

*

Who’s your favorite poet and have they been your main influence as far as writing style?

*

My favorite poet is in fact Dr. Seuss. I love how he was able to make a statement about anything without being argumentative. He told truths and let people figure them out themselves. His style has influenced me greatly. From him I learned that no topic is unusable and that you can teach without being bossy. I don’t usually make up words or creatures though.

*

I’ve attempted poetry with mixed results. Do you feel poets get a cold shoulder from novelists and why?

*

Poetry is not a very popular genre by any stretch of the imagination. A lot of authors have told me they won’t read my books because they don’t like poetry. Several people who have read my books say they are good then ask if I ever intend to write a “real” book. Almost everyone has written poetry at some time in their life, and novelists often imply that they “grew up” and now write books.

*

Final Question – I know you’re not an extrovert. If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?

*

I’m not an extrovert? Really??? I thought I was.  🙂  If I could change something about myself it would have to be getting a bit more confidence. I truly love the poems I write. They say exactly what I want them to say and how I want to say it. However, I really doubt anyone else likes them. Even when they say they are good, I wonder if it is because they know I am reading their response and not because it is true. Self-doubt can be debilitating at times.

I want to thank you so much for having me John. You are a fabulous author and I have enjoyed your books immensely. You need to finish Rask’s story because I want to know what happens!!! Hugs, Love and Great Karma always.

*

Thank you for submitting youself to my thought provoking and mentally intrusive queries, Cindy. You’ve been a great guest. 😀

Read on to discover Cindy J. Smith’s books and please buy one or both to help support an Indie Author. IndieForever !!!

*

*

VOICES IN MY HEAD     Image

SYNOPSIS — Ever want to get a second opinion on life? Well, Cindy has had voices giving her theirs all her life. With straight talk and sarcasm, they rhyme their views to her. In this first book, she offers you a glimpse of the path she has been traveling while seeking her way in this world.

*

BUY LINK — http://www.amazon.com/Voices-My-Head-Cindy-Smith-ebook/dp/B00GZQBR8M/ref=la_B006WCESBM_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1403813184&sr=1-1

*

MY REVIEW 

This review is from: Voices In My Head (Kindle Edition)
Ms. Smith has created a work that has some of the most poignant poetry I’ve ever read. The lyrical verses talk about her family life, dreams, hopes, and even sports. My favorites are the love poems to her immediate family members – ‘Mom,’ ‘My Love,’ and ‘Anniversary.’  If you like poetry, check out a writer who had become one of my favorites. I give this Five Stars.
*
*
THEY WON’T SHUT UP     ImageSYNOPSIS — In this second book of poetry, Cindy’s voices continue their relentless sharing of their opinions.
Touching on many of the emotions and life situations humans encounter, they offer their viewpoint in the hopes of finding the path to peace. At the end of the book, Cindy has shared a small section spotlighting the works of her angel daughter, to whom this book is lovingly dedicated for her Birthday.

*
*
RANDOM REVIEW
Beautiful and Thought Provoking July 30, 2013

Format:Kindle Edition
When I read poetry I expect the words to make think and provoke emotion….This book of poetry did much more than that! The author Cindy J. Smith has such a way to make the words jump off the page and draw you in and lose yourself. With each poem, I felt something while reading them and some I felt more than one emotion at a time.
Each poem took me to a world all of my own, were the words brought forth memories for me. I cried,laughed,and sighed with each poem I read. From the first poem to the last, each poem made me think about life and the surprises and disappointments that each of us come across day to day. Cindy J. Smith has a talent making the words come to life and mean something. I hope she keeps writing poems that make me feel the way this book did. I will recommend this book to everyone I know! Thank you Cindy J. Smith for listening to those voices in your head, you are one talented author~
*
*
LINKS~~~~~~~
*

4 thoughts on “An Exclusive Interview with a Unique Poet — Cindy J. Smith

Leave a Reply

