A SPECIAL INTERVIEW with ASHLEY HAINES — Promoter, Designer, and Event Coordinator Extraordinaire

Standard

Image

*

Today’s Interview is not with an author, but rather one who works and assists them – Ashley Haines. She’s the creator and designer of Ashley’s Addictive Book Promotions, she organizes Facebook Events, and she’s an all-around personable lady.   She’s currently helping me and another dozen writers with a Facebook celebration that’s happening in two weeks — The DREAMS, FANTASIES, NIGHTMARES, AND VISIONS 5-DAY MULTI-AUTHOR EVENT on June 18th thru the 22nd.

Here’s the interview. Read on to find out more about this amazing woman.

*

*

INTERVIEW

*

*

How did you get into your current profession?

*

I had started reading when I was stuck in the hospital for months at a time with nothing to do but sit and watch my daughter sleep because she was in a medical induced Acoma. After reading a book by Lisa Renee Jones, and also 50 Shades of Gray four times, I started talking about the books and how much I loved them. A friend suggested I should blog and review the books and, not knowing exactly what to do, I blew it off. One day, when I saw Lisa Renee Jones had a book coming out on Aug. 12 (My Birthday) I told my family that’s what I wanted to do – Promotions and Reviews. A few days later I found her book was available on Netgalley. I checked out the site and discovered all I had to do was have a blog and review books. So I started a blog and was given permission to review the book I wanted for my birthday even before it was offered to the public. How cool was that? To me, awesome. Except I didn’t know how to write a decent review. I posted the review with spoilers, before the book was even released, and found out I was supposed to wait until it was released. (So embarrassed.) So I learned the right way to do them, found it enjoyable to read and review various books that caught my eye, and started to participate in blog tours and events. All that work resulted in my starting Ashley’s Addictive Book Promotions.

*

Do you like listening to different kinds of music during different jobs?

*

Listening to music is a requirement for me when I’m working. If I’m reading I take the first chapter and set the mood of what music I’ll be listening to. When I’m working on promotions I have to listen to the energetic tunes of P!nk or Katy Perry. Most of the books I’ve been reading lately have been accompanied by Snow Patrol or Imagine Dragon – and P!nk and Katy!

*

What makes you proudest about helping out Indie Authors?

*

Oh, so many things. I especially love seeing them improve their sales and helping them to get the buzz out on their New Releases.

*

Where do you see yourself in five years?

*

I honestly do not know. As a devoted wife and mother of three beautiful children, I’d like to improve Ashley’s Addictive Book Promotions and be a success in my business, public, and personal life.

*

Master mechanics hate doing oil changes because it’s so boring. What task/job do you have that gives you the same feelings?

*

Hmmm…I honestly don’t have a dull part of this job…yet. The thing I love the most is setting up tours and reading new books.

*

You have a special needs child. What charities do you support and why?

*

To be honest, The Children’s Miracle Network has helped us immensely. When we’re able to, my family plans to give back to them just as they have given to us.  (Editors Note: Here’s the Link to the Children’s Miracle Network, if you like to find out more about them or give a donation – http://cmnwi.org/ )

*

Last Question. What’s one thing that’s helped you to become the driven women you are?

*

My Daughter. She has taught me how to stand up and push for what needs to be done. As authors you need your books sold and you need someone to help push your books for you. I can be that person for you. Just ask and we’ll get you on the fast track to becoming a success.

*

*

Thanks for the conversation, Ashley.  Below are a few links she’s supplied me with.  be sure to check out her Promotions Page and join her Blog. You’ll find out, just as I have, she’s a pleasure to work with.

*

*

LINKS

*

*

https://www.ashleysaddictivebookpromotions.com

https://www.facebook.com/ashleysaddictivebookpromotions

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCtfHfJHLlbPvoKrG3v1vuMQ   (She makes Trailers!!!!)

http://www.pinterest.com/ahaines2007/

https://twitter.com/AshleyHaines12

http://ashleysaddictivebookblog.blogspot.com/     (She also does Reviews!!!)

https://plus.google.com/u/0/+AshleyHainesAshleysAddictiveBookBlog/posts

 

 

 

One thought on “A SPECIAL INTERVIEW with ASHLEY HAINES — Promoter, Designer, and Event Coordinator Extraordinaire

Leave a Reply

