BLOG INTERVIEW #2 — WITH AUTHOR NADIA KIM

Standard

Nadia Kim

I’ve known Nadia Kim for about two years now and she’s been a pleasure to know. We met on IWW (Internet Writers Workshop). She helped me shore up Divisive and I returned the favor with her first novel – Reflections. She’s a sweet, caring woman and I’m the better for knowing her.

 

INTERVIEW

 

What was it that made you start writing?

*

I’ve been told that as early as I learned to write, I have written. When I was in elementary school I used to try penning songs and stories but the true passion strengthened after I read Anne Rice’s Interview With A Vampire when I was twelve. I developed a deep desire to write when I finished that book. It was my first full-length novel and the romance elements resonated with me. I left that novel craving more but not just reading, to write my own stories. I wrote my first book when I was thirteen and turned it in for a school project when I was fourteen. I still have it. I think I fell in love with vampires too. Every time I watched a certain movie or walked outside on a warm summers night, I could feel the call of a book, waiting to be written. In high school, I discovered Erotica when I was looking for another Anne Rice book and stumbled on Exit to Eden. I was hooked. As I grew up not only did I write stories about vampires, but erotic short stories too.

*
Your first book – Reflection – took the reader through a mismatched romance between co-workers and added a side trip into a mystical universe. What made you add the supernatural element instead of only sticking with the tradition odd couple romance?

Well, it was supposed to be a traditional romance book but I wanted something traumatic to help force the main character to see the need for change. I’m very fascinated by dreams because all my life I have had the most vivid ones when I sleep. So this is a theme in all my books actually. As I did my research I needed something that hinged on something believable and I found that there were Native American tribes that believed in something called dream walking. The story morphed from there.

*
Love Curse was a supernatural tale involving two teenaged witches during different time periods. How hard was it writing about two similar girls but with differing personalities?

*

It helps that I only focus on two POV’s at a time. In book one we follow Joan and Sidney. Alice will come later, in the sequel. I think that conducting interviews with each character and flushing them out ahead of time on paper helps to keep them separated in my mind.

*
Describe your process for writing a novel. Where do you start, and how do you feel when you finish?

I get an idea in my mind. Or have a dream that resonates. And then I sit down and start writing things out. This is how I do it now, trying to be more organized. I decide the main message because I believe all my books should have a positive message to leave the reader with. Once I understand that then I figure out how the story will end. Sometimes this isn’t as clear but I have a better idea of how the journey should go. I write a synopsis one chapter at a time. And try to have an understanding of what the motive is and who will be supporting characters along the way.

When I finish a novel I pretty much want to cry, okay, I’m lying. I do cry. It’s like birthing a baby. I push and push and push, myself to stay focused, to overcome my fears which sit on my shoulders nagging that it’s too much, that I can’t do it. I tune it out and take a deep breath and say baby steps. This is a process and my impatience sometimes makes it hard to focus. Sometimes I have to stop and get inspiration from movies that are the same genre that I am writing at that time. This helps me clear my head and motivates me and inspires me.

*
Your Newest novels – Book of Truth:Sleepwalking and Book of Truth:Resistance take place in hospitals and seem to have a spiritual resonance about them? Why did you base the dramas in a hospital and how many sequels do you have planned in the future?

*

I chose a nurse to be the main character because nurses are strong and have so much compassion. That was the main trait of my character. Using the hospital as a backdrop gave it that ER television show kind of feel. It also increases the drama and the variety of people that Laura the main character can interact with. A hospital represents life and death at the same time. I don’t know how many will be in the Series as of yet but I have in my mind at least two more books, from there we shall see. The reason for the spiritual undertone is because I have been on a spiritual journey that has changed my life and I wanted to share with the world a strong message about overcoming our own blind spots to seeing that we all need to look within and work to change. This isn’t about religion. This is about understanding that no one is perfect but we aren’t victims. Nothing happens as random happenstance. There is a reason and if we could just stop reacting and take a step back and see the messages then we could make our lives happier. I just want to do my part to help others be happy. And I know the only way to do that is by changing how people see the world around them. Trust me, I know first hand what a world of difference that shift in consciousness can create. How important it is for us to put our egos aside and stop feeling like something is all about us and reaching out to help others and see where we can share.

*

With most of your novels your heroines are shy misfits who find it hard to find their place in the world. How much of Nadia Kim is in these women and have they helped you in your own life as you wrote their stories?

LOL what if find hilarious is that I am by no means shy. ; ) I would say in the beginning a lot. I was very insecure with myself and, to be honest, did not see or appreciate even a small percentage of the great qualities that I was born with. But like I said I wanted to send strong messages for how others could over come those issues the same way I did. By giving them heroines that needed to go through a process as well. To give the reader hope that it was possible and all they had to do was try. Your last question is tough. I think that in the beginning it was my subconscious wanting to make me aware of areas to look at. And I think that I spent a lot of time reflecting on the issues as well. But now the stories are delving deeper. As I continue my spiritual studies with the Kabbalah Centre and learn how to change my conscious to better my life I’m imparting that same wisdom in my books to share with others.

*

Most writers find their family’s love and assistance an immense help in becoming a novelist. How does your husband and your adorable children support you?

*

My husband is supportive by allowing me the time I need to write and spend the money needed to put the books out in mainstream. My kids are the same, I have tried to school them that when the ear buds go in that means do not disturb. My kids cheer and congratulate me when I finish writing each book.

*

Hollywood calls. Who would you want to play Jessica Hamid in the movie adaptation of Reflections.

Madison Pettis but she would need to gain 20 lbs for the role.

*

Would You Rather – Sell a Book, or have a 5-Star review of your book?

Hmm. That’s tough because both are attainable but only if you sell the book first. LOL. I’ll take the book sales. My goal is to have an extended worldly reach. I’m a humanitarian.

 

LIBRARY

 

REFLECTIONSReflections

SYNOPSIS

Her soul is fragmented; she is but an empty vessel. Jessica Hamid isn’t your average African American/Middle Eastern woman. She’s broken. As if her childhood wasn’t bad enough. Because of all the kids who teased her for having a big butt or being mean to her, hurting her physically and mentally, she chose never to deal with those issues to bury them deep down inside, locking away the key. And now after landing her dream job the insecurities she developed have come back to haunt her in ways no one could imagine. Something is coming for her; she has no idea.

To make matters worse, despite obviously hiring her because of her excellent writing skills her boss at Teen Savvy Magazine hates her style and her coworkers want nothing to do with her. In fact, the only one giving her any attention is the mysterious photographer, Mark, whose charm is more torment than pleasure to Jessica as she struggles to figure out if he is for real or just out for another piece.

This is a story of a woman who struggles with her own insecurities to break into the person she was meant to be. Will she overcome them and allow love to shine its light through her, or will she become the property of another, more sinister force, never able to reclaim her identity again?

Reflection is a page-turner not like any other. It’s a love story with a twist of fantasy, playing to the moral fibers of a person. The depth of the characters help create a three dimensional world. And the angst experienced by Jessica is felt by the readers on an intimate level, evoking many emotional responses along the way, from hurt and sadness to the funny moments when the ever clumsy Jessica makes a mess of things.

BUY LINK

http://www.amazon.com/Reflection-Nadia-Kim-ebook/dp/B008G2VSOQ/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1400698763&sr=1-1&keywords=reflections+nadia+kim

***********

LOVE CURSE      Love Spell

*

SYNOPSIS

Lies, betrayal, magic, death, love, sex.
Visit this link for the book trailer. http://youtu.be/806STb6O2Xc
Every time Sidney got upset things would go wrong. Rain would appear, replacing the clear skies. Water in the sink would transform in weird ways. A typical teenager with enough angst to last a lifetime, she fought to contain whatever it was, fearful her parents would think the worst.

On the other side of time Joan Barnes loved her magic and resented her mother for the day she ripped her from the world she knew, banishing the teenage girl from ever practicing it again. But her magic was out of control and desperation for a teacher forced her to do the unthinkable.

Join The Barnes women as they embark on journeys of self-discovery in this first book in a trilogy.

*

MY REVIEW OF LOVE CURSE

4.0 out of 5 stars Coming of Age: Witchcraft Style March 28, 2013 By J.D.Tucker Format:Paperback
A Review of Love Curse by Nadia KimThis novel follows the tribulations and small victories in the lives of two budding witches – Joan and Sidney. While each story takes place many years apart, Ms. Kim weaves together their different, but similar challenges they face learning about their powers and dealing with jealous rivals and narrow minded people. You’ll smile, cry, and get angry at their dilemmas and interactions on their way to find their true destiny. I give it four stars.

*
BUY LINK
*
BOOK of TRUTH: SLEEPWALKINGSleepwalking
*
SYNOPSIS
Book 1 in the BOOK of TRUTH Series
Terrifying dreams ripped Laura from her sleep for many nights, causing her to become jarred by the sound of her own blood curdling screams. The Triage Nurse in the ER just wanted to help make people feel better. To add Light to their lives even in the smallest way but lack of sleep threatened her job.Refusing to seek help, Laura kept to herself the contents of what she saw as she drifted off to sleep, not even allowing her only friend Julia in on the secret. Caught between two guys who both seemed emotionally unavailable, Laura struggled to keep everyone at arms length. But life had a mind of its own and Laura finds herself falling down a hill of no return.

Book of Truth: Sleepwalking is the first book in a jaw dropping new series that will leave readers questioning how and why as they are propelled into drama and mysteries beyond belief.

*
BUY LINK
*
*
BOOK of TRUTH: RESISTANCEresistance
*
SYNOPSIS
Book 2 in the BOOK of TRUTH Series
A nurse in the ER, Laura Hart only wanted to heal people. When she’s promoted, she knows it wont be easy, but she would soon com to know that her new job was the least of her worries.Not only was she still conflicted between two men in her life, but also about the frightful dreams that continued to leave her gasping when she woke. The line between her lives had begun to blur, leaving Laura struggling to cope and decipher what is real from the obscure. As she leaves common sense in the wind, she opens herself to mistakes, one which may cost her the life she clings to.

Book of Truth: Resistance is book two in the series following Nurse Laura Hart as she navigates the wheel of life and will leave readers fighting for air as they drift through the thick cloud of intensity!

*
BUY LINK
*
*
*
Be sure to take a peek at Nadia’s novels and support an Indie Writer today!!!

 

5 thoughts on “BLOG INTERVIEW #2 — WITH AUTHOR NADIA KIM

Leave a Reply

